June 18 – July 2, 1994

By 1994, the competition had grown in size and prestige. A record 131 competitors from 38 countries participated, and the International Dance School was filled to capacity, with more than 300 students from 26 states and five countries participating. The Houston Ballet was featured during the Opening Ceremony, showcasing Janie Parker, Rachel Beard and Martha Butler, all previous medal winners of the USA IBC. Also at this competition, the USA IBC presented the African American Dance Ensemble in a two-day residency. Programming for the residency included a demonstration workshop, a master class and a performance.

In 1994, the USA IBC began offering competitors the opportunity to speak with dance evaluators about their performance. Ali Pourfarrokh and Maria Grandy served as inaugural competitor evaluators, and Hillary Rodham Clinton served as honorary chair of the fifth USA International Ballet Competition. During the competition, the Mississippi Museum of Art hosted a Degas exhibit featuring 74 bronze sculptures, as well as paintings, pastels and drawings by the legendary artist. The official USA IBC poster in 1994 was based on an original oil painting by Mississippi artist Lynn Green Root.

In 1994, the USA IBC received a “Regional Designation Award in the Arts” from the Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games and was also selected as “Event of the Year” by the ArtsAlliance of Jackson/Hinds County.

Photo: Best Senior Couple and medalists, Marina Antonova (Silver) and Igor Antonov (Bronze), returned to the Jackson stage for the 2008 USA IBC Reunion Gala.


Grand Prix City of Jackson:

  • Johan Kobborg (Denmark)

Senior Division


  • Dai Sasaki (Japan)


  • Yury Yanowsky (Spain)
  • Marina Antonova (Russia)
  • Beate Vollack (Germany)


  • Igor Antonov (Ukraine)
  • Alexandra Koltun (USA)
  • Mariko Miyauchi (Japan)
  • Tiekka Schofield (USA)

Best Senior Couple:

  • Marina Antonova (Russia) & Igor Antonov (Ukraine)

Junior Division


  • Zenaida Yanowsky (Spain)
  • Simon Ball (USA)


  • April Ball (USA)
  • Kusha Alexi-Angst (Switzerland)


  • Bruce Marks, Chairman, USA
  • Laura Alonso, Cuba
  • Krassimira Koldamova, Bulgaria
  • Doris Laine, Finland
  • Andre Philippe Hersin, France
  • Konstanze Vernon, Germany
  • Alexander Grant, Great Britain
  • Ivan Nagy, Hungary
  • Chetna Jalan, India
  • Kenji Usui, Japan
  • Patricia Aulestia de Alba, Mexico
  • Yu Yong, China
  • Vladimir Vasiliev, Russia

Join our mailing list for USA IBC updates, make a donation, or contact us.

I am looking for..